top of page

So Long Summer....

Is it just me or did summer start literally two seconds ago? Now I am looking at the calendar and September is here. College kids are all moved in, the kids are back to school and weather wise summer is but a forgotten lover. But I will not cry over the short period of time Summer 2017; I had fun times with friends, some great fashion moments and used new products. So come take a stroll with me as I share my Top 10 favorite items and products of Summer 2017.

1. The first item on the stroll down summer memory lane is the shoe Tamia from ShoeDazzle. She is such an eye catcher with a lot of style and sexiness which enhances any outfit. Below I paired her with a cute graphic tee, ripped up denim shorts, and Leisure clutch (no longer available) from JustFab. I wanted it so bad I got it in two colors the pink shown below and teal. Normally good things like this come to an end but have no fear, not only is the shoe still available in pink, teal, and white; ShoeDazzle has added a new color black! Interested in this shoe? Click the link at the bottom to learn more about becoming a member of ShoeDazzle and get a discount on your first order. Have this beautiful shoe delivered to your doorstep in just a few day and open up a world of shoe fashion that you wouldn't believe!

What I love about this shoe:

Runs true to size.

Ankle strap wraps around and holds very well.

A great heel for anyone who doesn't like a platform.

Her comfort level is amazing! I can stand in her for hours with no problem.

Tamia and legs go together like peanut butter and jelly.

COMPLIMENTS ARE NEVER ENDING!

 

2. Every make up lover want a perfect highlighter(s) and will search high and low until one is found. It took me months to find a highlighter that worked for me. I always felt I came out looking ashy, pale, and I was on the verge of giving up. Sephora at the Short Hills Mall to the rescue! I was introduced to Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector® in the color Topaz and it gave me exactly the glow I was looking for. It worked well with my complexion and didn't feel my face looked like a ghost. This beauty product has become my best friend and with eight different shades (including Topaz) I would recommend this product to anyone who is in need of a great highlighter.

This Beauty Look:

 

3. Yellow... One of my favorite colors! Bright, happy, warmth, sunshine! There isn't one negative word I can think of when it comes to such a vibrant color! One of my favorite colors, it was no surprise that when I came across Simon Satchel in yellow by ShoeDazzle I scooped it up immediately. Putting it together with a Striped Racerback Dress from JustFab, a Men's Denim Long Sleeve Button Up by Gap that I found thrifting in the Salvation Army, and Gisela Sandal in yellow from ShoeDazzle. Unfortunately, Simon is no longer available in yellow but there are eight other wonderful colors that you can chose from.

What I Love about this bag:

Comes in numerous colors.

Very compartment and space friendly.

Great for running errands, going to work, or just being out and about.

Non structured type bag.

Shoulder strap provided.

 

4. I don't know how long coffin nails have been hot, but I definitely feel I am late to a party that I wish I'd gotten an invite to. Since I was 15 years old I've been getting my nails done and for these past 30+ years my nail has always been squared off with it rounded at the corners. That is out the door now because I have fallen in love with the coffin nails look. The best description that I can give is the nail is shaped to angled in and squared off at the top (refer to the picture below). It is the love child of the stiletto and square shape. Now when I look at my hands, I feel this shape thins out my fingers and thick knuckles I got from my grandmother.

Hand Model Contribution: Star M.

 

5. If you know me, you know that I love makeup but I also love to save money, (who doesn't)? I came across my next favorite item, Wet N Wild Photo Focus Concealer while on a desperate hunt to replace my Sephora concealer that I ran out of and didn't have time to replace. I had never tried it before but for the price, and I REALLY NEEDED IT, I gave it a shot. My biggest concern is the darkness under my eyes as well as dark spots that I have on my face. This concealer covers up darkness, is light weight and doesn't crease or make it so my foundation looks caked on. Also, I have combination skin (dry/oily) and it balanced very well on both skin types. My face didn't dry out and I wasn't seeping oil out of my pores. I did have to mix the Medium/Deep Tan (left) with Dark Cocoa (right) to get the color that goes best with my skin tone. The reason being, one is too light and the other is too dark. Combining them gives me exactly the color I need. If you are looking for an abundance of colors, you are not going to find an in depth array of complexions t (6 different colors to be exact) to chose from. At the price of $3.99 + tax though, it does an amazing job and has become one of my go to drug store concealers.

Side note: When it comes to concealer I go one to two shades lighter than my foundation. Something I learned from numerous MUEs and MUAs.

 

6. When Beyonce came out with the Lemonade album lemons became a popular pattern on everything. Clothes, bags, shoes, accessories, and yes I will admit that I was one of the suckers for the lemon movement, purchasing shoes and bags with the ever so popular lemons on them. When I put Lawren from ShoeDazzle together with a a pair of olive shorts I got from thrifting, a cute and simple white top (I couldn't even tell you wear I got it from), did the make up, and pulled Simon out again, my shame melted away because I looked C U T E!!! Sadly, this comfy and eye catching shoe has gone bye bye with the summer season and is no longer available, but I will share with you what makes this shoe so amazing. I truly do hope they come out with it next spring and summer in new patterns. I was very nervous because they didn't have it in a size 9 so I went a half size down and got the 8.5. They fit perfectly and were so comfortable it felt like I was putting a glove on my foot!

What I love about this shoe:

A chunky heel gives more stability.

The material across the toes is stretchy so I don't feel all cramped.

Great conversation starter!

I JUST SIMPLY LOVE THE PATTERN!

L E M O N A D E!

 

7. WINGED LINER... My old arch nemesis! My biggest struggle since I started wearing make up years ago. It didn't matter what pencil I used, and I wouldn't even dare try liquid liner because I wound up looking like I let one of my little cousins draw on my face. My eyeliner savor came in the form of Maybelline New York Lasting Drama Waterproof Gel Liner. From the first use of this liner I fell in love. It glides on smooth, it doesn't cake or crease, it's easy to fix any mistakes, and it lives up the the word lasting. You couldn't tell me my wing wasn't the best thing walking in a place. I have partied many a night away with this eyeliner on, even done the unthinkable and fallen asleep with it on my face; woke up the next day and it still looked perfect. I take this Sleek Onyx pencil everywhere with me! Even if I don't want to do a full face, this liner with a little bit of gloss is all it takes. With ten amazing colors to chose from at $7.00 - $8.00 each, it's easy to use and perfect for anyone who is trying to get their wing down packed.

 

8. Anti-Aging creams are something that I never believed in. Never felt I needed them and I skip right over them when I am in any store. This summer my opinion has truly changed all because of L'Oreal Revitalift Moisturizer. Honestly, I wouldn't have tried this had it not been for a Voxbox that I received complimentary from Influenster, so I must give them all the credit for putting me up on this and making me a believer in one anti-aging cream. Why do I have faith in this product? I used it twice a day (morning and night) for the first 14 days and within that time I could see a change in the softness of my face and even the lines i get under my eyes decreased. It lived up to it's claims of moisturizing and hydrating, left my face feeling very soft, it's not greasy,and smells really good. A lot of times I feel that when I try out products to incorporate in my skincare regime they tend to smell very medicated and because the scent is so strong it usually lingers, which I can't stand. Price wise it around $25.00 - $30.00 which is a steal compared to some of the prices I've seen from other make up brands. I sure will be shelling out the dollars for this because this moisturizer WORKS!

 

9. My newest color obsession is ROSE GOLD! Clothes, jewelry, shoes, bags, rose gold has made itself known in my closets. So when I saw these two items, Floyd Crossbody Bag from JustFab.com and Galya Heeled Sandal from ShoeDazzle.com both in rose gold, they were purchased with no hesitation. I wore them together at the NYX Face Awards in Los Angeles (a trip I won through Shoe Dazzle,to) . Floyd is a fun bag and I love the contrast of the blue eyes against the rose gold. The cross body strap comes off, making the bag a clutch, which is exactly how I used it. I like this bag so much I got it in the lime color as well.

Galya I wanted in every color but the rose gold matched perfectly with the bag.The best part about this shoe is the simple, classic, sexy look it has. This is the type of heel that I would wear to a formal event like a wedding or black tie affair. The only con I have for this is that it is not one of those shoes you can stand or dance all night it. I had to sit down after some time being the strap across the toes started to dig in and the ball of feet began to hurt badly. You may want to go up a half size so that the toe box has a little bit more room. I put these in the category of my "keep it cute and then find a place to sit down shoes."

What I love about these items:

Floyd

Great room for a small bag.

Adorable and unique design.

Comes with a removable strap.

Come in two eye catching colors, rose gold and lime.

Galya

Runs true to size.

Simplistic yet sexy look.

Go to formal occasion shoe.

I can pair it with various looks.

Come ins five great colors: nude, gold, rose gold, gunmetal.

 

10. Keeping with the metallic theme, another one of my favorite combos this summer was wearing Bick clutch from ShoeDazzle and Tahnee from JustFab, both in iridescent silver. Bick is a great clutch for a girl's night out! I threw my ID, credit card, cash, bendable flats, and make up in there and was good to go. Tahnee was another item that I had to have in two colors, iridescent and pink and I am quite happy! Normally I don't like shoes that wrap around the ankle because I feel my ankles are too skinny and that the strap will droop, especially with it having a lock hanging off of it. Once I put them on and buckled them up, the strap and locket sat in just the right spot and my ankle had great stability. I was also very skeptical about the pointed toe. Having a size 9 foot a lot of times shoes with a pointed toe make my feet look very big and long. Tahnee did no such thing, it actually did the opposite making my foot look cute and dainty. Sadly Bick is no longer available in any color and Tahnee is only available in pink and black (both in limited sizes). But you can always go on either site and check out the other great shoes and bags they have to offer.

What I love about these items:

Bick

Sleek design of the bag.

Comes with a removable cross body strap.

Iridescent color.

Fits all the night out on the town essentials.

Tahnee

Runs true to size.

The locket that hangs off the side is a cute accent.

Toes don't feel cramped.

Her comfort level is amazing! I can stand in her for hours with no problem.

And there you have it! My top 10 items of Summer 2017! It was very hard for me to settle on ten things but if I didn't then I would be here forever typing and you would get bored of reading. I will say for myself this summer was a lot of fun when it came to looks and trying new things. All good things must come to an end, so I shall say Farewell to Summer as I begin to pull out the Fall and Winter styles, looks, and products that I am ready to try out!

Stay tuned!

XOXO

Your Chocolate Chick Shoe Blogger (CCSB)

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.

CHOCOLATE CHICK SHOE BLOGGER

Summer 2017 is behind us and Fall 2017 is upon us! Yet as I say good bye to Summer 2017 I would like to take a stroll down memory lane and share with you my favorite fashion moments, beauty products I've used and outings. Now that fall has kicked summer to the curb it is time to start pulling out the boots and booties. There are so many great styles out right now to fit everyone's needs.and I will be reviewing some of the great looks I've seen for the upcoming season and what I can't wait to put on my feet.

​

I also took some time to chat with my good friend and fellow shoe lover, Sara Cerda to talk about her life as a blogger, a mom, a wife, and her Younique business. With so many hats and so much on her plate, how does she still have time to look so fabulous each and every day? She will let you in on her secrets.

​

​ Kick back, relax, get yourself a pumpkin latte and let's say goodbye to Summer and hello to Fall! ​

XOXO Your Chocolate Chick Shoe Blogger

bottom of page